Field Hockey recognized at the Annual 55th SportBC Awards

The 2023 Annual SportBC Awards celebrated a few members of the field hockey community. FHBC would like to congratulate Anna Mollenhauer, who has won in the University Athlete of the Year category, and Jennifer Taylor, who was a recipient of the SportBC Presidents’ Awards, given to volunteers who demonstrate the spirit of volunteerism through their dedication and commitment given to sport. Additionally, the UVic Women’s Field Hockey Team was one of the finalists in the Team of the Year category; former FHBC Events & Officials Coordinator Stephanie Rudnisky also received the Presidents’ Awards.

Anna Mollenhauer is a former Team BC and UVic player, and currently playing for the Women’s National Team. Anna is the first field hockey athlete to have received the U Sports Player of the Year award three times! She has also been nominated Canada West Player of the Year and UVic Female Athlete of the Year in 2022. Anna is the daughter of Nancy Mollenhauer – two time field hockey Olympian for Canada – and was a constant presence in FHBC’s High Performance programs over the years.

Jennifer Taylor has been an important figure for field hockey in British Columbia. She has participated in local, regional, provincial, and national events as a technical official; she has volunteered her time to support the Field Hockey BC’s Train-to-Train and Train-to-Compete events, the Club Championships, and the National championships held in BC; she was also a member of the FHBC Board of Director as the Athlete Program Director.

Jennifer served as a long-term committee volunteer to the Field Hockey BC athlete program and pathway portfolio before being appointed to the Society Board of Directors as the Board Director responsible for athlete program and pathway governance in 201 4. Jennifer stepped down from this role in 2021 having worked tirelessly to promote athlete program opportunities across BC for over a decade.

Posted in NEWS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen − two =