UBC Crowned Canada West Champions

For the 10th time in 11 years, the UBC Thunderbirds Women’s Field Hockey team have been named the Canada West Champions. The UVic Vikes finished second in the conference. Several BC athletes were honoured when the Canada West Awards were handed out.

The UBC Thunderbirds finished their season with 22 points and a 7-0-1 record. They tied their BC rivals, the UVic Vikes in their first match of the season, but went on to defeat them the following 3 matches. UBC advances to the USports Championship – a best-of-three series between UBC and the OUA Champions (TBD) being held at UBC from November 3rd to 5th.

The Canada West Awards were handed out at the end of Conference play on Sunday October 22nd. Seven BC athletes were recognized for their efforts this season:

Rookie of the Year – Anna Mollenhauer, UVic (Victoria, BC)
Outstanding Contributor – Lindsay Cole, UVic (Victoria, BC)

Canada West All-Stars:
Lindsay Cole, UVic (Victoria, BC)
Sophie Jones, UBC (West Vancouver, BC)
Sarah Keglowitsch, UBC (Shawnigan Lake, BC)
Anna Mollenhauer, UVic (Victoria, BC)
Kristina Walters-Shumka, UVic (Victoria, BC)
Emily Wong, UVic (Vancouver, BC)
Sabrina Wong, U of C (West Vancouver, BC)

Visit the Canada West website for more information about all of the Conference Awards.

Posted in NEWS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *